By Senators Rasmussen, Anderson, Amondson, McAuliffe, McCaslin, L. Smith, Sellar, McDonald, Sutherland, Spanel, Roach, Snyder, Morton, West, Pelz, Loveland, Newhouse, Bluechel, Schow, Oke and Haugen


            WHEREAS, Washington is home to 1,070 dairy farms and more than a quarter of a million dairy cows; and

            WHEREAS, Our state's dairy farmers contributed $648 million to the state's economy in 1992; and

            WHEREAS, Milk production ranks second in dollar value among Washington's agricultural commodities; and

            WHEREAS, Our state is ranked ninth nationwide in milk production; and

            WHEREAS, The first creamery in Washington state was started at Cheney in 1880, at a time when cattle outnumbered state residents by more than two-to-one; and

            WHEREAS, Citizens throughout the state today honor this special industry with the annual Dairy Day celebration at the State Capital; and

            WHEREAS, The Washington State Dairy Federation is the proud sponsor of this observance; and

            WHEREAS, Sonya Strawder, of Lynnwood, is representing the dairy industry with distinction as the reigning State Dairy Princess; and

            WHEREAS, The Benjert family of the Yakima Valley, the Bergsma family of Lynden, and the Kytola family of Brush Prairie are admirably representing the dairy farmers of Washington as the 1994 Washington State Dairy Families of the Year;

            NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate acknowledge and commemorate the men and women whose work on dairy farms throughout Washington has contributed to the economy of our state, the character of our communities, and the well being of our citizens; and

            BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the President of the Senate to Sonya Strawder and to the Benjert, Bergsma, and Kytola families.


I, Marty Brown, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 1994-8688,

adopted by the Senate March 2, 1994.





Secretary of the Senate