By Senators Wojahn, Rasmussen, Franklin, Gaspard, Schow, Oke, Roach and Winsley


         WHEREAS, The port of Tacoma has been awarded the President's "E Star" for excellence in exporting, which is the most prestigious of American export commendations; and

         WHEREAS, In 1975, the United States Department of Commerce first recognized the port of Tacoma's ability to build a profitable export business, by honoring it with the "E" award; and

         WHEREAS, the "E Star" award is given only to organizations that win the first award and continue to excel; and

         WHEREAS, The port of Tacoma is the first port in the Pacific Northwest to ever earn the award; and

         WHEREAS, Since first winning the "E" award, the port has grown to become the sixth-largest port in North America and is responsible for seventy thousand jobs state-wide; and

         WHEREAS, The port's export trade has grown four hundred percent in eighteen years; and

         WHEREAS, Export tonnage has grown from 2.2 million in 1975 to 8.2 million; and

         WHEREAS, The port has developed new shipping terminals and expanded its land base and facilities for attracting export-oriented manufacturers and warehouse companies; and

         WHEREAS, The port provides a model labor agreement which emphasizes shared responsibilities and full participation of its longshoring and other port employees; and

         WHEREAS, The port of Tacoma is unique because of a close and interdependent relationship between companies, unions, government, and port commissioners; and

         WHEREAS, The port of Tacoma is expanding Washington state's export markets and helping to diversify its economy; and

         WHEREAS, The port of Tacoma provides a vital link between Tacoma and to the Pacific Rim and beyond;

         NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate honors the port of Tacoma for its work in benefiting the state and for creating an exemplary model for other ports and businesses; and

         BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate also recognizes the port of Tacoma as a recipient of the coveted "E Star" award, as it is only the sixth port in the United States to win "E Star" flag.


I, Marty Brown, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 1994-8690,

adopted by the Senate March 8, 1994.




Secretary of the Senate