By Senator West


            WHEREAS, The high level of competition and the enduring tradition of Boys High School basketball is well established in the State of Washington; and

            WHEREAS, The state high school boy's AAA basketball championship tournament completed March 12, 1994, demonstrated with spirited play and exemplary sportsmanship the appeal of the sport among the players, students, parents, and fans of Washington State; and

            WHEREAS, The most difficult accomplishment in the world of sports is to live up to the high expectations and to reach the ultimate goal of a tournament championship; and

            WHEREAS, The Ferris High School Saxons' Boys Basketball team refused to let their 2nd place finish in the 1993 tournament deter them in their quest for a state championship; and

            WHEREAS, The Joel E. Ferris High School Saxons' Boys' Basketball team triumphed on March 12 in the Class AAA championship game, and, by winning 59-46 over a worthy opponent from Juanita High School, became the Class AAA 1994 Champions; and

            WHEREAS, The members of the Joel E. Ferris High School Saxons' Boys' Basketball team are David Scherer, Rob Coulter, Kelly Risse, Chad Roland, Chris Swallom, Marius Gix, Joe Miller, Matt Sachse, Greg Oenning, James Marshall, Scott Stocum, and Chad Herrick; and

            WHEREAS, Matt Sachse was distinguished by being named tournament Most Valuable Player, and each of the Ferris Saxons distinguished themselves with their sportsmanship and determination, team members and fans alike; and

            WHEREAS, The Joel E. Ferris High School Saxons' under the leadership of Coach Wayne Gilman, and Assistant Coaches Brian Sachse and Jim Missel, have brought distinction and pride to Ferris High School, its students, its supporters, and the entire Spokane community;

            NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That in recognition of the outstanding accomplishments of the team members and the coaching staff, the Senate honor and congratulate the Joel E. Ferris High School Boys' Basketball Team; and

            NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be transmitted to the School District 81 School Board, the administration of Joel E. Ferris High School and each of the players and coaches.


I, Marty Brown, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 1994-8709,

adopted by the Senate March 14, 1994.





Secretary of the Senate