HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 97-4602, by Representatives Robertson, Grant, Chopp and Mitchell



     WHEREAS, On December 26, 1996, and the days immediately following, the state of Washington was pummeled with some of the most extreme weather in over twenty years, including severe snowstorms, ice storms, and rainstorms; and

     WHEREAS, As a result of the storms at least seven lives were lost, and extensive destruction of property was caused throughout the state of Washington, including the loss of electrical power and communication lines to hundreds of thousands of individuals as trees collapsed under the weight of ice; and

     WHEREAS, These storms were followed by a period of rapid warming in temperature with resulting snow and ice melt and severe water run-off conditions; and

     WHEREAS, As a consequence of these conditions, severe flooding, mudslides, and avalanches occurred throughout the state, resulting in additional loss of property including the destruction of many homes and severe damage to many roads, as well as the closure of the mountain passes connecting eastern and western Washington, and serious disruption of commerce throughout the state; and

     WHEREAS, Members of law enforcement agencies, fire fighters and paramedics, emergency service crews, public and private utility crews, local governments, churches, charitable organizations, and many volunteers worked extended hours and made great personal efforts to ease the suffering of their fellow citizens;

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, By the House of Representatives, that sincere gratitude and appreciation be extended to every person and organization throughout the state who through extraordinary diligence, hard work, dedication, and sacrifice reached out to assist their fellow citizens in their time of need during the inclement weather and extreme conditions caused by the storms.


   I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of

   Resolution 4602 adopted by the House of Representatives

                      January 13, 1997.



               Timothy A. Martin, Chief Clerk