HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 97-4625, by Representatives Johnson, Zellinsky, Backlund, O'Brien, Wood, H. Sommers, Fisher, Keiser, Talcott, McMorris, Linville, Hickel, Benson, Radcliff, Quall, Lantz, L. Thomas, Carlson, Hatfield, Conway, Cooke, D. Schmidt, B. Thomas and Regala


      WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Washington State Legislature to honor those organizations that have engaged in outstanding service to the public; and

      WHEREAS, The Parent Teacher Association (PTA) is the oldest and largest volunteer association in the United States working on behalf of children and young people in our schools; and

      WHEREAS, The PTA was founded in 1897 as the National Conference of Mothers; and

      WHEREAS, For one hundred years, the PTA has promoted good schools and quality education; and

      WHEREAS, One of the PTA's founders, Alice Birney, appealed "to all mankind and to all womankind, regardless of race, color, or condition, to recognize that the republic's greatest work is to save the children"; and

      WHEREAS, Education reform continues today as one of the central issues facing our society; and

      WHEREAS, The importance of parental involvement in successfully educating a child cannot be overstated; and

      WHEREAS, The PTA's research demonstrates that children learn best when their parents devote time and attention to them and their schoolwork; and

      WHEREAS, The PTA assists parents in taking primary responsibility for educating, nurturing, and training their children;

      NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize and honor the Parent Teacher Association on its one hundredth anniversary; and

      BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Barbara Webb, the President of the Washington State Parent Teacher Association.


      I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of

      Resolution 4625 adopted by the House of Representatives

                        February 19, 1997.



                  Timothy A. Martin, Chief Clerk