HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 97-4639, by Representatives Schoesler, Sheahan, Buck, Tokuda, Conway, D. Sommers, Benson, Crouse, Radcliff, McMorris, Mulliken, Hickel, DeBolt, Boldt, Bush, Smith, Mielke, Scott and Hankins


      WHEREAS, Athletics is one of the most effective ways for girls and women in the United States to develop leadership skills, self-discipline, initiative, and confidence; and

      WHEREAS, Sports and fitness activity contributes to emotional and physical well-being, increased self-esteem, and develops strong bodies; and

      WHEREAS, The communication and cooperation skills learned through athletic experience play a key role in the contributions of athletes to the home, school, and community; and

      WHEREAS, The honor of being high school state champions reflects positively upon the character of the school, the students, the parents, and the community; and

      WHEREAS, The Ritzville High School Girls' Basketball Team has won the 1997 State "B" championship and as such they have demonstrated the importance of work and how performance, effort, and decisions directly affect future career and educational opportunities;

      NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives honor and congratulate the Ritzville High School Girls' Basketball Team for their hard work, dedication, and sacrifice in achieving this significant accomplishment; and

      BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the families of these students be commended for the encouragement and support they have provided to these student athletes; and

      BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the coaches, teachers, classmates, parents, and community of Ritzville be recognized for the important part they played in helping these athletes excel; and

      BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Head Coach John Foulkes, Assistant Coach Howard Manke, and Ritzville High School Girls' Basketball Team members:  Jamie Wellsandt, Tracy Warriner, Jennifer Kramer, Erin Weber, Niffer Horpedahl, Megan Wellsandt, Katie Kirkendall, Shannon Russell, Megan Yerxa, Jamie Alspach, Carlye Zicha, and Jennifer Janzen.



      I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of

      Resolution 4639 adopted by the House of Representatives

                          March 18, 1997.





                  Timothy A. Martin, Chief Clerk