HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 98-4680, by Representatives Wensman and Ballasiotes


      WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Legislature to honor excellence in every field of endeavor; and

      WHEREAS, The Mercer Island High School Islanders Boys' Water Polo Team won the 1997 Water Polo Team State Championship; and

      WHEREAS, This significant accomplishment was obtained in just the second year after the program was established; and

      WHEREAS, The Islanders Boys' Water Polo Team State Championship participants were Simon Aebersold, Ed Averett, Ryan Ayers, Brett Bannon, Nic Cronin, Alistair Fray, Logan Gee, Will Gee, Chris Godfrey, Matt Grant, Jeff Guyman, Aric Jarrett, Chris Martinez, Ty Nickerson, Dan Smith, and Brett Storle; and

      WHEREAS, The Islanders have exemplified to their classmates the success that is possible in any field of endeavor when persistent effort is made; and

      WHEREAS, The Islanders are a credit to their community;

      NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives honor and congratulate the Mercer Island High School Islanders Boys' Water Polo Team for their hard work, dedication, and sacrifice in achieving this significant accomplishment; and

      BE IF FURTHER RESOLVED, That Coach Tom Cummings and Assistant Coach Leif Jessen be recognized for their leadership; and

      BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the teachers, classmates, and parents of the team members be recognized for the important part they played in helping these student athletes excel; and

      BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Principal Dr. Judy Smith, Vice-Principal/Athletic Director Craig Olson, and to each of the coaches and members of the Mercer Island High School Islanders Boys' Water Polo Team that participated on the State Championship Team.



      I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of

      Resolution 4680 adopted by the House of Representatives

                         January 26, 1998.





                  Timothy A. Martin, Chief Clerk