HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 98-4699, by Representatives Quall, Johnson, Cole, Talcott, Linville and Morris


      WHEREAS, The late Bernard G. "Ben" Edlund served the people of Washington state as a public school teacher and administrator for thirty-four years; and

      WHEREAS, Ben Edlund served as the Superintendent of the Cosmopolis school district, of the Rochester school district, and of the Moses Lake school district; and

      WHEREAS, Ben Edlund raised millions of dollars to improve education in the Ferndale and Sedro Woolley school districts during his tenure there; and

      WHEREAS, Ben Edlund received the Award of Merit from the Washington association of school administrators; and

      WHEREAS, Ben Edlund developed the "Schools for the Twenty-First Century" program, thus preparing the Moses Lake school district for the challenges of the new millennium; and

      WHEREAS, Ben Edlund was a strong advocate of citizen involvement in education by establishing community task forces on facilities planning, on school discipline, and on instructional goals in the Rochester school district; and

      WHEREAS, Ben Edlund was a leader and inspiration for educators throughout Washington state; and

      WHEREAS, Ben Edlund dedicated his life to being "a great teacher of boys and girls of all ages";

      NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate and House of Representatives hereby honor the memory of the late Bernard G. Edlund for his long-standing and inspirational leadership and service to the people of the state of Washington; and

      BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives immediately transmit this resolution to the Governor of the State of Washington, the Honorable Gary F. Locke, the Superintendents of the Cosmopolis, Rochester, and Moses Lake school districts and the family of the late Bernard G. Edlund.



      I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of

      Resolution 4699 adopted by the House of Representatives

                         February 6, 1998.





                  Timothy A. Martin, Chief Clerk