HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 98-4742, by Representatives Butler and Cole


     WHEREAS, The Shorewood High School girls basketball team won the Class AAA state prep girls basketball championship by defeating Blanchet High School by a score of 41 to 32; and

     WHEREAS, This is the first state basketball title ever brought to Shorewood High School; and

     WHEREAS, The team finished the season with an impressive record of 23-6; and

     WHEREAS, The success these young women experienced is a tribute to their dedication, determination, and hard work; and

     WHEREAS, As young women athletes, they serve as role models for younger girls aspiring to succeed in athletics;

     NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize and honor team members Julie Taborski, Blaire Burman, Kristin Shrewsbury, Laura Taborsky, Michelle Webb, Heidi Hascall, Stephanie Hart, Brynn Grimley, Cori Nelson, Tegan Simonson, Nino Lowe, Esther Poloai, Analisa Johnson, and coaches Tom Demetre, Cecil Jackson, Gail Pintler, and Gina O'Neil for a tremendous performance on the court; and

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Chief Clerk immediately transmit this resolution to the Governor of the State of Washington, the Honorable Gary F. Locke, the President of the Senate, the Honorable Brad Owen, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the Honorable Clyde Ballard, the superintendent of the Shorewood School District, the principal of Shorewood High School, and the families of the young ladies on the championship team.


   I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of

   Resolution 4742 adopted by the House of Representatives

                       March 12, 1998.





               Timothy A. Martin, Chief Clerk