S-1158.2  _______________________________________________


                         SENATE BILL 5659



State of Washington      55th Legislature     1997 Regular Session


By Senator Morton


Read first time 02/05/97.  Referred to Committee on Agriculture & Environment.

Regulating the beef commission.

    AN ACT Relating to the beef commission; and amending RCW 16.67.040 and 16.67.051.




    Sec. 1.  RCW 16.67.040 and 1993 c 40 s 1 are each amended to read as follows:

    There is hereby created a Washington state beef commission to be thus known and designated.  The commission shall be composed of ((one)) two beef producers, ((one)) two dairy (beef) producers, ((one)) two feeders, one livestock salesyard operator, and one meat packer.  The member that is elected as chair shall be a nonvoting member.  In addition there will be one ex officio member without the right to vote from the department of agriculture to be designated by the director thereof.

    A majority of voting members shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of any business.

    All appointed members as stated in RCW 16.67.060 shall be citizens and residents of this state, over the age of twenty-five years, each of whom is and has been actually engaged in that phase of the cattle industry he or she represents for a period of five years, and has during that period derived a substantial portion of his or her income therefrom, or have a substantial investment in cattle as an owner, lessee, partner, or a stockholder owning at least ten percent of the voting stock in a corporation engaged in the production of cattle or dressed beef, or a manager or executive officer of such corporation.  Producer members of the commission shall not be directly engaged in the business of being a meat packer, or as a feeder, feeding cattle other than their own.  Said qualifications must continue throughout each member's term of office.


    Sec. 2.  RCW 16.67.051 and 1993 c 40 s 3 are each amended to read as follows:

    Commencing on July 1, 1993, the appointive positions on the commission shall be designated as follows:  The beef producers shall be designated position one and position six; the dairy (beef) producers shall be designated position two and position seven; the feeders shall be designated position three and position eight; the livestock salesyard operator shall be designated position four; and the meat packer shall be designated position five.

    The initial terms of positions one and four shall terminate July 1, 1994; positions two and five shall terminate July 1, 1995; and position three shall terminate July 1, 1996.  The initial terms of position six shall terminate July 1, 1998; position seven shall terminate July 1, 1999; and position eight shall terminate July 1, 2000.  The regular term of office of subsequent appointees shall be three years from the date of appointment and until their successors are appointed.


                            --- END ---