By Senators Swecker, Fraser, Franklin, Rasmussen and Spanel


     WHEREAS, It is the policy of the legislature to recognize excellence in all fields of endeavor; and


     WHEREAS, The sixty seven members of the Yelm Prairie Elementary School choral group were invited to sing at the second inaugural address of President William J. Clinton; and


     WHEREAS, The students performed an original piece, AIf It Takes a Village,@ written by their music teacher, Lynn Roselle Kourehdar; and


     WHEREAS, An ambitious fund raising project which generated over one hundred thousand dollars in donations from people across the state made the trip possible; and 


     WHEREAS, The students were excellent ambassadors of the state of Washington;


     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate give honor to each member of the Yelm Prairie Elementary choral group, and to music teacher Lynn Roselle Kourehdar; and


     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to each member of the Yelm Prairie Elementary choral group, and to Lynn Roselle Kourehdar.


I, Mike O=Connell, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 1997-8609,

adopted by the Senate February 5, 1997.





Secretary of the Senate