By Senators Deccio, Swecker, Long, Kohl, Spanel, Rasmussen, Loveland, Sellar, Schow, McAuliffe, Oke, Anderson, Zarelli, Franklin, Bauer and Stevens


     WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Washington State Senate to recognize and honor those individuals that have made significant contributions to the well-being of the citizens of Washington; and


     WHEREAS, John D. McAlister, who was an active member of many agricultural industry organizations and served on the Government Affairs Council of the Association of Washington Business, as well as their Board of Directors, passed away on Monday, February 10, 1997; and


     WHEREAS, John D. McAlister moved to Yakima in 1983 and established the public relations department for Tree Top, Inc.; and


     WHEREAS, John D. McAlister was very active in the Yakima community, serving on the board of the Yakima Symphony Orchestra and on the board of New Vision; and


     WHEREAS, John D. McAlister was the founder and chairman of the Yakima Excellence in Education Program, and was pleased when Yakima area teachers received recognition for their service and dedication to local students; and


     WHEREAS, John D. McAlister was an active member of First Presbyterian Church; and


     WHEREAS, John D. McAlister gave many hours of dedicated service to the citizens of the Yakima community, and will be greatly missed; and


     WHEREAS, John D. McAlister is fondly remembered by his wife, Patricia McAlister, their three children, three step-children, and their families;


     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate give honor to John D. McAlister, whose life has immensely benefitted many citizens of this state; and


     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Patricia McAlister and each of the surviving family members.


I, Mike O=Connell, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 1997-8617,

adopted by the Senate February 19, 1997.





Secretary of the Senate