By Senators Rossi and Johnson


     WHEREAS, The students of Tahoma High School in Maple Valley, Washington enrolled in the program known as AWe the People, The Citizen and the Constitution@ have exhibited that they have learned very well the lessons of our forefathers who wrote the Constitution of the United States and will be representing all of Washington in national championship competition; and

     WHEREAS, This knowledge will enhance their lives and direct their paths as they walk through life, proud in the knowledge that Americans have long stood for justice and liberty of all Americans; and

     WHEREAS, Being armed with this knowledge is to the benefit of all citizens of this great country and state and will encourage them to participate in the democracy men and women have fought so gallantly to preserve; and

     WHEREAS, Knowing that these energetic, knowledgeable young people will one day lead this state and country, and that there may very well be in their midst a Governor, Senator or member of Congress or perhaps even a future President; and

     WHEREAS, Teachers of  AWe The People@ program such as Stephanie Galloway and Mark Oglesby can take great pride knowing that the students enrolled in this program have the knowledge to outperform university students in every topic; and

     WHEREAS, Studies have shown that 80% of senior students participating in this program have registered to vote as compared to an average of 37% thereby proving that this program has increased the interest in politics and in participating in government; and  

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That we the members of the Washington State Senate wish to acknowledge the participation in this program by Emily Allen, Meghan Ashbaugh, Will Bekker, Darcy Bowers, Callie Clynch, Marlene Crookston, Autumn Cutler, Nicole Ergeson, Mindy Erickson, Jon Fursman, Elisa Garrison, Stacy Hammett, Bjorn Jonasson, Kim Krusel, Jared McGlinchey, Darren Muller, Shannon Murphy, Kim Prince, Jason Pynn, Eric Ruthford, Ramesh Singa, Jonna Sloan, Katie Stephens, and Sara Zaleski, students each and every one making their families and fellow citizens proud; and

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Secretary of the Senate forward a copy of this resolution to the Principal of Tahoma High School to further show the respect of this body for a job well done by each student and teacher.


I, Mike O=Connell, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 1997-8621,

adopted by the Senate February 17, 1997.





Secretary of the Senate