By Senators Rasmussen, Franklin, Winsley and Swanson


     WHEREAS, Mr. Christopher Paul Navarre, Sr. of Dupont has recently been decorated by the United States Army with the Silver Star for gallantry in action during World War Two; and


     WHEREAS, This recognition was delayed by some 52 years; and


     WHEREAS, Mr. Navarre, following the Battle of the Bulge, volunteered to reduce his rank from first sergeant to private in order to join a combat unit; and


     WHEREAS, He was assigned to the first all-black tank unit formed by General George Patton; and


     WHEREAS, He remained with the 761st Tank Battalion throughout some of the most intense fighting in France and Germany as the allies closed in on Nazi forces; and


     WHEREAS, Mr. Navarre remained in the reserves, and in 1949 was appointed as a warrant officer and served in the Korean War with the 116th Combat Engineers; and


     WHEREAS, Following the Korean War, he then served with the 1st Cavalry Division in Japan, followed by service in a number of posts throughout the world; and


     WHEREAS, He retired from active duty in 1963 and accepted a position at Fort Lewis as an inventory management control officer, retiring from the Logistics Center in 1982; and


     WHEREAS, Mr. Navarre=s service to his country and to the cause of liberty at home and abroad are truly outstanding and worthy of public recognition;


     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the members of the Washington State Senate do hereby honor Mr. Christopher Paul Navarre, Sr., and urge all citizens of Washington to join us in acknowledging his outstanding service and accomplishments, and congratulate him on the belated bestowal of his rightfully deserved Silver Star; and


     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Secretary of the Senate immediately transmit a copy of this resolution to Mr. Christopher Paul Navarre, Sr. and his family.


I, Mike O=Connell, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 1997-8628,

adopted by the Senate March 3, 1997.





Secretary of the Senate