By Senators Heavey, Patterson, Schow, McCaslin and Strannigan


     WHEREAS, Our democracy has been enriched by the countless immigrants who have made their way to our shores and added to this Nation's tremendous diversity; and


     WHEREAS, Irish immigrants transformed our Nation's largest cities into dynamic centers of commerce and industry, and their contributions to our smaller cities and towns are evident today in the cultural, economic, and spiritual makeup of the communities; and


     WHEREAS, The first St. Patrick's Day parade was conducted with George Washington's troops; and


     WHEREAS, Forty percent of the army during the Revolutionary War were Irish-Americans and George Washington exclaimed that the revolution would not have been successful without their efforts; and


     WHEREAS, Nine of the people who signed our Nation's Declaration of Independence were of Irish origin, and thirteen Presidents of the United States proudly claim Irish heritage; and


     WHEREAS, Through the years of America's greatest growth -- the building of the Erie Canal in the 1820's, the transcontinental railroad in the 1860's, and the first skyscrapers in the 1890's -- Irish-Americans gave their labor; and


     WHEREAS, The largest wave of Irish immigrants came in the late 1840's, when the Great Famine ravaging Ireland caused two million people to emigrate, mostly to American soil; and


     WHEREAS, Upon arrival, Irish immigrants faced "No Irish Need Apply" signs, but persevered and overcame prejudice; and


     WHEREAS, Irish-Americans in communities all across the country celebrate St. Patrick's feast day with parades and the wearing of the green; and


     WHEREAS, On St. Patrick's Day, Irishness comes out in everybody;


     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate hereby honor the rich heritage of the millions of Americans who trace their lineage to Ireland by celebrating St. Patrick's Day.


I, Mike O=Connell, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 1997-8637,

adopted by the Senate March 17, 1997.





Secretary of the Senate