By Senators Kohl, Jacobsen, Wood, Wojahn, Thibaudeau, Sheldon, Loveland, Winsley, Long, McDonald, Spanel, Fraser, West, Brown, Kline, Prentice, Franklin, Snyder, Bauer, Hale, Swanson, Johnson, Fairley and McAuliffe


     WHEREAS, The University of Washington (UW) Women=s Crew is one of the leading women=s crews in the nation having won more national championships than any other university crew; and


     WHEREAS, The UW Women=s Crew placed 4th in the nation in 1996 as the undefeated champions of the Pac-10 and placed 2nd in the nation in 1995; and


     WHEREAS, The UW Women=s Crew just won the first competition of the 1997 season against other nationally ranked teams in San Diego and has set its top goal to be the victors of the first ever NCAA sponsored women=s crew championship this year; and


     WHEREAS, The UW Women=s Crew is composed of 70 women from around the nation who are not only excellent athletes, but also important role models for the youth of Washington State; and


     WHEREAS, With the introduction of scholarships, made possible by the gender equity provisions passed in 1989, the UW Women=s Crew has been able to recruit top national athletes and reward athletes that come from other sports;


     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate recognize and honor the dedication, spirit, and accomplishments of the members and coaches of the UW Women=s Crew; and


     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the UW Women=s Crew and coaches.


I, Mike O=Connell, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 1997-8654,

adopted by the Senate April 8, 1997.





Secretary of the Senate