By Senator Snyder and Kohl


     WHEREAS, The Willapa Valley Vikings Football Team of Pacific County capped an undefeated season by capturing the Washington State B-11 football championship; and


     WHEREAS, Head Coach Rob Friese and Assistant Coaches John Peterson and Greg Wonhoff guided the Willapa Valley Vikings toward their perfect 13-0 record; and


     WHEREAS, Rob Friese, John Peterson, and Matt Bannish are all Coathletic Directors who devote their time and talents to bringing together a winning football team; and


     WHEREAS, The Willapa Valley Vikings have a long history of excelling in all areas of sports; and


     WHEREAS, Rob Friese and Matt Bannish are witnesses to this winning tradition, having played on Willapa Valley's 1978 and 1979 state championship football team and 1981 state championship basketball team; and


     WHEREAS, Twenty-nine of the Willapa Valley's one hundred forty-eight students successfully dedicated themselves to winning the 1996 state football championship;


     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate of the state of Washington recognize and honor the Willapa Valley Vikings for their accomplishments in attaining the title of Washington State B-11 Football Champions; and


     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Willapa Valley's coaching staff, administration, and each of the players on Willapa Valley Vikings Championship Football Team.


I, Mike O=Connell, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 1997-8668,

adopted by the Senate April 21, 1997.





Secretary of the Senate