By Senators Wojahn, McDonald, Snyder, McCaslin, Sellar, Bauer and Newhouse


     WHEREAS, Lyle Burt was a mainstay of the Capitol Press Corps for more than fifteen years as a state government reporter for the Seattle Times during the 1970's and 80's and was praised for the accuracy of his news writing; and

     WHEREAS, Lyle Burt will be remembered by politicians, bureaucrats, judges and news reporters alike as a gentleman; and

     WHEREAS, In addition to his solid and respected reporting style, Mr. Burt was widely known for his outside interests, including a devotion to bagpipes and other aspects of his Scottish heritage, and those around him understood that Lyle Burt came equipped with pipes and practice chanter, either of which could go off without warning in his office during the noon hour; and

     WHEREAS, Lyle Burt was born in Everett and lived his entire life in Washington, serving in the U.S. Navy during World War II and was an accomplished still photographer, radio personality, and wire service reporter for the Associated Press before joining the Seattle Times as a political reporter in 1961; and

     WHEREAS, Mr. Burt=s other interests included gourmet Chinese cooking, which he learned while covering the International District in Seattle before coming to Olympia to establish a news bureau for the Times in 1971; and

     WHEREAS, Mr. Burt passed away February 4, 1998 in Tacoma at the age of 80, but not before admonishing family and friends that he thought funerals were for others and not for him;

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate hereby recognizes Lyle Burt=s life accomplishments and sends condolences to his wife Kathryn Burt, sons Terry Burt of Tennessee and Douglas Burt of Olympia, and daughter, Robin Burt of Ithaca, New York; and

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be sent to the family of Lyle Burt.


I, Mike O=Connell, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 1998-8700,

adopted by the Senate February 13, 1998.





Secretary of the Senate