By Senators Anderson, Stevens, Hargrove, Horn, Johnson, Loveland, Rasmussen, Snyder, Rossi, Long, Roach, Benton, Fraser, Goings, Swecker, Finkbeiner, Spanel and B. Sheldon


     WHEREAS, The Washington State Legislature recognizes excellence, achievement and conduct in all fields of endeavors; and

     WHEREAS, Washington State is known for many outstanding athletic teams and stars; however, there is one sport in particular where the award-winning participants toil in the shadows of more publicized sports; and

     WHEREAS, This particular sport warrants recognition because it takes tremendous skill, athleticism, and a certain amount of Ahorse sense;@ and

     WHEREAS, Washington State is home to a number of people who pride themselves for their love of horses and equestrian competitions; and

     WHEREAS, The athletes here to be recognized use a unique breed of horse in their competitions, known as the Appaloosa; and

     WHEREAS, The Appaloosa, one of the finest breeds of horses, has a unique heritage in the Pacific Northwest, dating back to the 1700s when the Nez Perce tribe first recognized the stellar characteristics of this breed and relied exclusively on the Appaloosa; and

     WHEREAS, When handled with confidence and expertise, the Appaloosa are a breed apart when it comes to competition, such as dressage, jumping, reining, roping, pleasure and endurance; and

     WHEREAS, These athletes merit distinction for their hard work and dedication to their sport and their achievements in equestrian events, including National and World competitions;

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate recognize and honor the Washington State Appaloosa riders that earned a AChampionship@ or AReserve Championship@ honor from the National Show in Oklahoma City or the World Show in Forth Worth.  The honorees include: Cori Anderson of Acme; Jenna Applegate of Bellingham; Sarah Aron of Issaquah; Nick and Jessica Barkas of Buckley; Brianne Berschaur of Lacey; Carlee Blackburn of Battleground; Ronald Dillion of Walla Walla; Debbie Hadden of Olympia; Robin and Allison King of Arlington; Brett Larson of Montesano; George Lawrence of Seattle; Diana McDaniel of Roy; Brittney Mercer of Vancouver; Corisa Quevillion of Mill Creek; Carrie Ruby of Issaquah; Roheela Shah of Sumner; Rachel and Tamara Sternoff of Redmond; Kandace Stevenson of Mercer Island; Kara and Monica Baker of Spanaway; and Andrea Willis of Ferndale; and

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That we honor these champion horse riders for their hard work, dedication, competitive spirit and accomplishments.


I, Mike O=Connell, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 1998-8715,

adopted by the Senate March 4, 1998.





Secretary of the Senate