By Senator Franklin, B. Sheldon and Kohl


     WHEREAS, K.C. Boutiette, a native of Tacoma and graduate of Mount Tahoma High School, competed and distinguished himself in men=s speed skating at the 18th Olympic Winter Games at Nagano, Japan; and

     WHEREAS, Mr. Boutiette, America=s top men=s speed skater going into these Olympic Games, solidified that position by establishing three new American men=s speed skating records, in the 1,500 meter, 5,000 meter, and 10,000 meter events; and

     WHEREAS, He also briefly held the new Olympic record in the 1,500 meter event, his specialty race; and

     WHEREAS, His eighth-place, American record-setting finish in the 10,000 meter event, at thirteen minutes, forty-four and three-one-hundredths seconds, was nearly twenty-five seconds faster than his previous personal best; and

     WHEREAS, Mr. Boutiette also qualified for the American Olympic team and competed in the 1994 Winter Games at Lillehammer, Norway, only several months after taking up the sport of speed skating; and

     WHEREAS, He began his skating career as an inline skater, winning two national championships in that sport before crossing over to the ice; and

     WHEREAS, He is by far the most successful cross-over from inline skating to speed skating; and

     WHEREAS, Following the Olympic Winter Games at Nagano, Mr. Boutiette remains America=s preeminent men=s speed skater;

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the members of the Washington State Senate do hereby recognize and honor Mr. K.C. Boutiette for his outstanding effort and accomplishments at the 1998 Olympic Winter Games at Nagano, Japan, in men=s speed skating; and that we wish him the best of luck in future competition; and

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Secretary of the Senate immediately transmit copies of this resolution to Mr. Boutiette, and to his family in Tacoma. 


I, Mike O=Connell, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 1998-8728,

adopted by the Senate March 11, 1998.





Secretary of the Senate