HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2001-4624, by Representatives Pearson, Dunshee, Lambert and Woods


     WHEREAS, Tom Wilken of Sprague, Michaela Raikes of Seattle, Jennifer Gibson of Granite Falls, Heath Hilton of Monroe, Corey McCrea of Snohomish, Sonja Ray of Seattle, Erin Richardson of Spokane, and Alden Tucker of Lacey have achieved national recognition for exemplary volunteer service by receiving 2001 Prudential Spirit of Community Awards; and

     WHEREAS, This prestigious award, presented by the Prudential Company in partnership with the National Association of Secondary School Principals, honors young volunteers across America who have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to serving their communities; and

     WHEREAS, Knowing that energetic, knowledgeable young people such as these will one day lead this state and country, and that there may very well be in their midst a Governor, Senator, member of Congress, or perhaps even a future President; and

     WHEREAS, The success of the state of Washington, the strength of our communities, and the overall vitality of American society depend in great measure upon the dedication of young people who use their considerable talents to help others; and

     WHEREAS, These awards were earned by giving generously of personal time and energy to the service of others;

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives acknowledge the 2001 Prudential Spirit of Community Award recipients Tom Wilken, Michaela Raikes, Jennifer Gibson, Heath Hilton, Corey McCrea, Sonja Ray, Erin Richardson, and Alden Tucker, and recognize their outstanding record of community service, peer leadership, and community spirit; and

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Co-Chief Clerks of the House of Representatives to each of the 2001 Prudential Spirit of Community Award recipients listed above.



   I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of

   Resolution 4624 adopted by the House of Representatives

                       March 21, 2001.


________________________________ _____________________________

Timothy A. Martin, Co-Chief Clerk Cynthia Zehnder, Co-Chief Clerk