HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2001-4646, by Representatives Quall, Morris, Hatfield, Barlean and Sehlin


      WHEREAS, It is the policy of the legislature to recognize excellence in all fields of endeavor; and

      WHEREAS, The Mount Vernon High School Bulldog boys' basketball team, from Mount Vernon, won the 2001 Class AAA State Basketball Championship; and

      WHEREAS, The Mount Vernon basketball coaches, players, and managers demonstrated sportsmanship, citizenship, skill, and dedication while accomplishing their goal of winning the State AAA Basketball Championship with a perfect 27-0 record; and

      WHEREAS, The senior class student-athletes of Mount Vernon's championship boys' basketball team have a collective 3.28 grade point average, showing a commitment to academic excellence as well as athletic excellence; and

      WHEREAS, Head Coach Mac Fraser has led Mount Vernon Bulldog boys' basketball teams to state championships in both the 20th century (1991, 1992) and the 21st century (2001);

      NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize and honor the Mount Vernon High School boys' basketball team and Coach Mac Fraser and his assistants for their accomplishments; and

      BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Co-Chief Clerks of the House of Representatives to Coach Mac Fraser; Assistant Coaches Jim Koetje, Jeff Scott, Torey Swanson, and Chad Weyers; Principal Dave Anderson; Athletic Director Eric Monson; the faculty of Mount Vernon High School; and to the student-athletes of Mount Vernon High School who won the AAA State Boys' Basketball Championship for 2001:  Seniors Tyler Amaya, Troy DeVries, John Lee, Eric Powell, Josh Reisman, Aaron Roetcisoender, Scott Skjel, and Chris Thompson; Juniors Stanley Johnson, Ben Martin, and Travis Storrer; and Sophomore Kyle Kendrick.



      I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of

      Resolution 4646 adopted by the House of Representatives

                          April 18, 2001.



________________________________     _____________________________

Timothy A. Martin, Co-Chief Clerk  Cynthia Zehnder, Co-Chief Clerk