HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2001-4669, by Representatives Edmonds and Kagi


      WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Washington state legislature to recognize and honor the contributions of individuals and organizations that reflect standards of excellence that enhance the well-being and quality of life of the citizens of the state of Washington; and

      WHEREAS, Public libraries serve as community cornerstones; and

      WHEREAS, Public libraries are a legacy to each generation, offering the heritage of the past and the promise of the future; and

      WHEREAS, Free access to books, ideas, resources, and information is imperative for education, employment, enjoyment, and self-government; and

      WHEREAS, Libraries provide open, nonjudgmental access to collections and services without regard to race, citizenship, age, educational level, economic status, religion, or any other qualification or condition; and

      WHEREAS, Libraries create an environment that promotes the communication of ideas and information and encourages users to encounter the rich diversity of concepts on which a democratic society depends; and

      WHEREAS, The Richmond Beach Library had been housed in the same building since 1912; and

      WHEREAS, The new building is almost 4,000 square feet larger than the old building and had been in the planning process for over fifteen years; and

      WHEREAS, The Richmond Beach Library serves the city of Shoreline and Friday June 1, 2001, marked the ribbon cutting of the new library;

      NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives honor the Open House and Dedication Ceremony on June 9, 2001, of the new Richmond Beach Public Library and recognize the community's dedication and commitment to its completed construction; and

      BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Co-Chief Clerks of the House of Representatives to the Richmond Beach Library.


      I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of

      Resolution 4669 adopted by the House of Representatives

                          July 21, 2001.



________________________________     _____________________________

Timothy A. Martin, Co-Chief Clerk  Cynthia Zehnder, Co-Chief Clerk