HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2002-4693, by Representatives Hatfield, Doumit, Rockefeller, Upthegrove, Buck, Ballasiotes, Woods, Haigh, Cox, Anderson, McDermott, Talcott, Schmidt and Morell


     WHEREAS, The teacher of the year program is part of a nationwide initiative to honor and recognize exceptional elementary and secondary classroom educators; and

     WHEREAS, The state teacher of the year program is administered by the office of the superintendent of public instruction; and

     WHEREAS, The program, established in Washington state in 1963, honors one outstanding classroom teacher each year; and

     WHEREAS, David McKay, an English teacher at Aberdeen High School, received the Washington state teacher of the year award October 18, 2001; and

     WHEREAS, David McKay is the first recipient from educational service district 113 to receive this honor; and

     WHEREAS, As recipient of the state teacher of the year award, David will serve as Washington state's representative in the national teacher of the year competition, as well as take part in a number of special events throughout the upcoming year;

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize and honor David McKay, Washington state's 2002 teacher of the year; and

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to David McKay.



I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of

4693 Resolution adopted by the House of Representatives

                   February 8, 2002.




              Cynthia Zehnder, Chief Clerk