HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2002-4694, by Representatives Holmquist, Linville, Grant, Roach, Sump, Chandler, Kirby, Delvin, Schoesler, Cooper, Mulliken, Quall, Hunt, Hatfield, Benson, Conway, Boldt and Hankins


      WHEREAS, The Washington State House of Representatives recognizes the remarkable contribution of the beef cattle industry to the state's economy; and

      WHEREAS, The state still boasts many full-size cattle operations and 70% of Washington's cattle are owned by less than 10% of the beef producers; and

      WHEREAS, Cash receipts from beef cattle in Washington totaled over 560 million dollars in 2000, a 23% increase from 1999, making cattle and calves the third largest commodity within the largest industry in the state; and

      WHEREAS, In 1900 there were only 465,000 head of cattle in Washington state.  Today Washington's beef cattle growers manage approximately 1.3 million head of cattle and calves annually; and

      WHEREAS, Approximately 9,000 farmers and ranchers in Washington are employed as beef producers; and

      WHEREAS, The amazing natural resource base of this state has facilitated a doubling of the cow herd in the last 100 years; and

      WHEREAS, One-third of the state's land base is in pastureland or rangeland; and

      WHEREAS, Cattle represent the largest agricultural commodity in the nation, contributing 70 billion dollars last year to the United States economy; and

      WHEREAS, Americans uphold this industry by eating, pound for pound, more beef than any other meat;

      NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the hard work of the men and women who handle beef cattle is hereby recognized by the Washington State House of Representatives; and

      BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to the Washington State Beef Commission and the Washington Cattlemen's Association.



      I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of

      4694 Resolution adopted by the House of Representatives

                         February 4, 2002.




                   Cynthia Zehnder, Chief Clerk