SENATE BILL 5440





                        57th Legislature

                      2001 Regular Session

Passed by the Senate March 10, 2001

  YEAS 48   NAYS 0




President of the Senate


Passed by the House April 12, 2001

  YEAS 96   NAYS 0



I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate of the State of Washington, do hereby certify that the attached is  SENATE BILL 5440 as passed by the Senate and the House of Representatives on the dates hereon set forth.




Speaker of the

      House of Representatives






Speaker of the

      House of Representatives



Approved Place Style On Codes above, and Style Off Codes below. 





Governor of the State of Washington

                   Secretary of State

                  State of Washington



                         SENATE BILL 5440



             Passed Legislature - 2001 Regular Session


State of Washington      57th Legislature     2001 Regular Session


By Senators Jacobsen and Oke; by request of Department of Fish and Wildlife


Read first time 01/23/2001.  Referred to Committee on Natural Resources, Parks & Shorelines.

Raising the number of the governor's appointees to the fish and wildlife commission from two to three.

    AN ACT Relating to correcting the number of gubernatorial appointments to the fish and wildlife commission; and amending RCW 77.04.030.




    Sec. 1.  RCW 77.04.030 and 2000 c 107 s 203 are each amended to read as follows:

    The fish and wildlife commission consists of nine registered voters of the state.  In January of each odd-numbered year, the governor shall appoint with the advice and consent of the senate ((two)) three registered voters to the commission to serve for terms of six years from that January or until their successors are appointed and qualified.  If a vacancy occurs on the commission prior to the expiration of a term, the governor shall appoint a registered voter within sixty days to complete the term.  Three members shall be residents of that portion of the state lying east of the summit of the Cascade mountains, and three shall be residents of that portion of the state lying west of the summit of the Cascade mountains.  Three additional members shall be appointed at-large.  No two members may be residents of the same county.  The legal office of the commission is at the administrative office of the department in Olympia.


                            --- END ---