SENATE BILL 6557





                        57th Legislature

                      2002 Regular Session


Passed by the Senate March 11, 2002

  YEAS 44   NAYS 0




President of the Senate


Passed by the House March 6, 2002

  YEAS 93   NAYS 0



I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate of the State of Washington, do hereby certify that the attached is  SENATE BILL 6557 as passed by the Senate and the House of Representatives on the dates hereon set forth.




Speaker of the

      House of Representatives









Approved Place Style On Codes above, and Style Off Codes below.  





Governor of the State of Washington

                   Secretary of State

                  State of Washington



                         SENATE BILL 6557



                      AS AMENDED BY THE HOUSE


             Passed Legislature - 2002 Regular Session


State of Washington   57th Legislature        2002 Regular Session


By Senators Kohl‑Welles, Horn, Carlson, Shin, Jacobsen, Sheahan, McAuliffe, Parlette and B. Sheldon


Read first time 01/21/2002.  Referred to Committee on Higher Education.

Providing for the higher education coordinating board to select its chair and vice-chair. 

    AN ACT Relating to the selection of the chair of the higher education coordinating board; and amending RCW 28B.80.390 and 28B.80.400.




    Sec. 1.  RCW 28B.80.390 and 1985 c 370 s 10 are each amended to read as follows:

    The board shall consist of nine members who are representative of the public, including women and the racial minority community.  All members shall be appointed at large by the governor and approved by the senate.  ((The governor shall appoint the chair, who shall serve at the governor's pleasure.))  Following the term of the chair serving on the effective date of this section, the board shall select from its membership a chair and a vice-chair who shall each serve a one-year term.  The chair and vice-chair may serve more than one term if selected to do so by the membership.


    Sec. 2.  RCW 28B.80.400 and 1985 c 370 s 11 are each amended to read as follows:

    The members of the board((, except the chair,)) shall serve for terms of four years, the terms expiring on June 30th of the fourth year of the term ((except that in the case of initial members, two shall be appointed to two-year terms, three shall be appointed to three-year terms, and three shall be appointed to four-year terms)).


                            --- END ---