By Senators Franklin, Sheahan, Johnson, Winsley, Fraser, Carlson, McAuliffe, Spanel, Snyder, Fairley, and Rasmussen


     WHEREAS,  the life of Martin Luther King Jr. was dedicated to serving his fellow man;  and


     WHEREAS, today we celebrate the birth of this man whose life, whose dream and whose work was dedicated to challenging us all to discover and honor our shared humanity;  and


     WHEREAS, Service is a powerful way  to commemorate not only the words and deeds of Dr. King, but to translate our reverence for his life and teachings into action to make our nation better; and


     WHEREAS, Service to others is a bond that unites us and helps us to create a vision of a common good; and


     WHEREAS, Dr. King believed that a person=s worth should not be measured by his or her color, culture or class but rather by his or her commitment to making life better for all through service rendered to each other; and


     WHEREAS, a day of service reflecting the values and teachings of Dr. King would  bring people together and help to break down the social and economic barriers that divide our nation; and


     WHEREAS, a commitment to bringing all of our people, regardless of race, creed, religion or station in life, together to face the challenges of this new century would honor Dr. King; and


     WHEREAS,  Residents of Washington can help make service the common duty of all Americans on this holiday by making it a day of action, not apathy;           


     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the members of the Washington State Senate, on behalf of the people of our state, in recognition of  the outstanding leadership and courage demonstrated by Martin Luther King Jr., honor his memory by urging all of the citizens of our state to make  Martin Luther King Jr  Day a day of service B a day on, not a day off.


I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 2001-8603,

adopted by the Senate January 12, 2001.





Secretary of the Senate