By Senators Franklin and Regala


    WHEREAS, It is the tradition of the Washington State Senate to recognize the outstanding achievements of the youth of our state; and

    WHEREAS, Tacoma=s Lincoln High School Abes have exuded athletic excellence this year by completing a blissful 29-1 season; and

    WHEREAS, The Abes won the 4-A state boys basketball title on March 11, 2001, by defeating Ferris High School of Spokane 61-54 before a boisterous crowd; and

    WHEREAS, The Abes dominated during their four-day run through the 16-team field at the state tournament in the Tacoma Dome, also defeating Sehome (59-50), Mount Spokane (50-45) and Shadle Park (72-43).

    WHEREAS, With the hard work, dedication and perseverance of team members Robert Crawford, Gerren Farrison, Najja Bullock, Aubrey Shelton, Kevin Ahlstrand, Jason Carr, Ben Shelton, Leonard White, Andre Anderson, Justin Holt, Andre Thelaner and Amos Saffold, the Abes won the school=s first state basketball title since 1975; and

    WHEREAS, The Abes= victory marks the first time in history that Tacoma schools have won two consecutive big-school state basketball titles, the first won by Henry Foss High School; and

    WHEREAS, Lincoln=s head basketball coach, Tim Kelly, and his staff, Mark Williams, Andy Nelson, Duane Lee, and Matt Kitna, deserve tremendous credit for guiding the team B practice by practice, game by game B to victory in the state championship; and

    WHEREAS, Coach Kelly has been selected to coach Washington=s team in the always-exciting Washington/Oregon high school game; and

    WHEREAS, Outstanding guard Leonard White was selected as both the district and state tournament MVP by The News Tribune, averaging 19.7 points per game and scoring a game-high 28 points in the final;


    NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate does hereby recognize the accomplishments of the Lincoln Abes basketball team, and the unified teamwork of the players and coaches; and


    BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be transmitted by the Secretary of Senate to Lincoln High School Principal Grant Hosford, members of the basketball team, basketball coach Tim Kelly and Athletic Director Char Davenport.


I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 8639,

adopted by the Senate March 22, 2001.





Secretary of the Senate