By Senators Kohl‑Welles, Gardner, Spanel, Fairley, Prentice, McDonald, Finkbeiner, Regala, Rasmussen, Snyder, Winsley, Thibaudeau, Constantine, Franklin, Fraser, Swecker, Kastama, Oke, Jacobsen, Kline, Roach, Johnson, Costa and McAuliffe


     WHEREAS, The Washington State commercial fishing fleet began leaving in March and the annual Blessing of the Fleet occurred at Fisherman=s Terminal in Ballard, March 11, 2001; and

     WHEREAS, The Washington State commercial fishing fleet is one of the world=s largest distant water fleets; and

     WHEREAS, The commercial fishing industry directly and indirectly employs thousands of people; and

     WHEREAS, Commercial fishing has been designated as one of the most dangerous occupations in the United States; and

     WHEREAS, The life of a fisher is one fraught with danger and hardship that most of us will never face; and

     WHEREAS, Strength and courage are basic requirements for anyone who chooses to work on the high seas, battling the elements in order to harvest nature=s bounty; and

     WHEREAS, The Arctic Rose left the Pribilof Island Port of Saint Paul on April 1 en route to the Bering Sea opening for flathead sole; and       

     WHEREAS, On Monday, April 2, fifteen fishers aboard the Arctic Rose disappeared on the Bering Sea; and

     WHEREAS, Nine of the fifteen fishers who lost their lives on this Seattle-based fishing vessel were residents of Washington State; and

     WHEREAS, The men and women who work on fishing boats, living between God and the sea, and never certain which will claim them first, deserve our admiration, our appreciation, and when tragedy strikes, our remembrance;

     NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate honor and remember the captain and all crew members of the Arctic Rose: David Rundall from Everett; Aaron Broderick from Kirkland; Jimmy Conrad from Spanaway; Edward Haynes from Seattle; G.W. Kandris from Tacoma; Kenneth Kivlin from Port Orchard; Jeff Meincke from Lacey; Mike Olney from Sumas; and Alejandro Ortiz Espino, Angel Mendez, Justino OPoll and Alejandro Cortez  from Coatepec, Veracruz, Mexico;  Shawn Bouchard from Harlowton, Montana; Kerry Egan from Britt, Montana; and James Mills from Judith Gap, Montana; and 

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate extend its condolences to the families and friends of the fishers who lost their lives or are missing on the Bering Sea, and wish the rest of the entire commercial fishing fleet a safe and prosperous season and that all fishing men and women will return home safely to their families, friends, and communities; and   

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Secretary of Senate immediately transmit copies of this resolution to the families of the crew of the Arctic Rose.


I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 8672,

adopted by the Senate April 11, 2001.





Secretary of the Senate