By Senators Haugen, Spanel and Rasmussen


     WHEREAS, It is the practice of the Senate to recognize excellence in all fields of endeavor; and

     WHEREAS, The Mount Vernon High School Bulldog Boys= Basketball Team, from Mount Vernon, won the 2001 Class AAA State Basketball Championship; and

     WHEREAS, The Mount Vernon basketball coaches, players, and managers demonstrated sportsmanship, citizenship, skill, and dedication while accomplishing their goal of winning the State AAA Basketball Championship with a perfect 27-0 record; and

     WHEREAS, The senior class student athletes of Mount Vernon=s Championship Boys= Basketball Team have a collective 3.28 grade point average, showing a commitment to academic excellence as well as athletic excellence; and

     WHEREAS, Head Coach Mac Fraser has led the Mount Vernon Bulldog Boys= Basketball Teams to state championships in both the twentieth century (1991, 1992) and the twenty-first century (2001);

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate recognize and honor the Mount Vernon High School Boys= Basketball Team and Coach Mac Fraser and his assistants for their accomplishments; and 

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Coach Mac Fraser; Assistant Coaches Jim Koetje, Jeff Scott, Torey Swanson and Chad Weyers; Principal Dave Anderson; Athletic Director Eric Monson; the faculty of Mount Vernon High School; and to the student-athletes of Mount Vernon High School who won the AAA State Boys= Basketball Championship for 2001: Seniors Tyler Amaya, Troy DeVries, John Lee, Eric Powell, Josh Reisman; Aaron Roetcisoender, Scott Skjel and Chris Thompson; Juniors Stanley Johnson, Ben Martin and Travis Storrer; and Sophomore Kyle Kendrick.


I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 2001-8678,

adopted by the Senate April 18, 2001.




Secretary of the Senate