By Senators Johnson and McAuliffe


     WHEREAS, on December 1, 2001, the Kentwood High School Conquerors won the Class 4A State Football Championship by beating the Pasco High School Bulldogs 38-24 in the Tacoma Dome; and

     WHEREAS, Kentwood, with a twelve-game winning streak, broke Pasco's fourteen-game playoff winning streak and the Bulldog's twenty-seven game regular season winning streak; and

     WHEREAS, scoring thirty-one points in the first half, the Kentwood Conquerors dominated nearly every facet of the game; and

     WHEREAS, offensive linemen Drew Fowler, Carl Reichenbach, Brian Haynes and Kenny Frederick cleared the path for running back Kevin Jones, who set a Kentwood record when he rushed for 185 yards, scoring two touchdowns on twenty-three carries; and

     WHEREAS, Carl Bonnell, having amassed more victories than any other 4A high school quarterback in state history, rushed for one touchdown and completed four of ten passes for forty-six yards, including one touchdown pass; and

     WHEREAS, the Conquerors' defense played a key role in the championship bid, holding the Bulldogs= best running back to only sixty-nine yards and one touchdown; and

     WHEREAS, defensive linebacker Tahj Bomar upset the Bulldogs' starting drive by forcing a fumble recovered by the Conquerors' Kevin Jones, who promptly ran it back for a touchdown; and

     WHEREAS, special teams players Anthony Melchior and Brent Weidenbach scored an additional three and six points respectively, helping to secure the Conquerors' lead over the Bulldogs; and

     WHEREAS, the remainder of the football team B DeAndre Gill, Chad Helgeson, Derek Pederson, Tyler Freed, Justin Forney, Adrian Chandler, Marc Voda, Budd Jardine, Chris Mahoney, Austin Stein, Kalen Roy, Joey Ravotti, Jesse Smith, Nate Whitlock, Drew Bolinger, Chris Dahl, Dane Bolinger, Daniel White, Travis Sapp, Mike Schut, Travis Meyers, Brian Mahoney, Mitch Ratigan, Leon Wroblewski, Drew Edwards, Adam Mott, Demetrius Bibb, Mike McNett, Mike Campell, Tom Wiemann, Alex Moaali, Jason England, Chris Newton, Mike Ling, Garrett Harrington, Adam Johnson, Jean Courtier, Ryan Conwell, Brett Haack, Aaron Egbert, Willie Ireton, Ryan Tyler and Jarvis Harden B each dedicated himself to victory and his team, all playing a key role in the Conquerors' winning season and state championship title; and

     WHEREAS, Tom Ingles, teacher and coach in Washington State for thirty years, led the Conquerors to two state championship games, winning the second to finish the season with a Kentwood coaching record of 92-36; and

     WHEREAS, assistant Coaches Kurt Phelps, Jim Sutrick, Melvin Wells, Scott Leick, Jon Aarstad, Seth Garrison, Todd Curtis and Harold Hawkin also worked hard to help prepare the team for victory; and

     WHEREAS, winning seasons and championship titles are reserved for those athletes that demonstrate teamwork, dedication and discipline above all else; who do not believe in defeat or surrender; and

     WHEREAS, the countless hours of practice, training and preparation spent by the Conquerors and their coaches is worthy of our recognition and respect; and

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Washington State Senate honor the Kentwood Conquerors for their determination and dedication to each other and the pride their victory brings to their school and community; and

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Kentwood Principal Doug Hostetter, Kentwood Athletic Director Jo Anne Daughtry, to Coach Ingles and each member of the Conqueror championship team.


I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 8725,

adopted by the Senate March 7, 2002.





Secretary of the Senate