By Senators Sheldon, B. and Rasmussen


            WHEREAS, In the summer of 1939, Williamsport, Pennsylvania; resident Carl E. Stotz gathered neighborhood children and devised a baseball program for young boys called the Little League; and

            WHEREAS, Today, three million participants in ninety countries have been introduced to this beloved American pastime; and

            WHEREAS, Little League mentors young children in sportsmanship, self-confidence and safety; and

            WHEREAS, During June, July and August of 2001, a Bainbridge Island Little League team comprised of players ages 11-12 won a series of state, regional and district tournaments; and

            WHEREAS, The Bainbridge Island All-Stars won the Northwest Regional championship tournament qualifying them for the Little League World Series held in Williamsport, Pennsylvania, from August 17-26, 2001; and 

            WHEREAS, The Bainbridge Island All-Star Team, comprised of Adam Beck, Jesse Colkitt, Dalton Gent, Coby Gibler, Tal Glass, Michael Heald, Nash Hensen, Peter Huisinga, Austin Hurt, Peter Leslie, Rudy Sharar, Robert Stevenson, Taurean Yamada, manager Don French, and coaches Dick Henshaw and Greg Stevenson, felt privileged and honored to represent their state and the entire Northwest region in the tournament; and

            WHEREAS, Playing a total of twenty games, they were one of sixteen teams from around the world to participate in the championship; and

            WHEREAS, Embodying the Little League motto “character, courage, and loyalty,” their magical season ended with a 17-3 record, as they finished second place for the United States in the Pool B division of the Little League World Series;

            NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate hereby acknowledge these fine players and coaches who represented our state in a national championship; and

            BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the members of the Bainbridge Island All-Star Team.


I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 8730,

adopted by the Senate February 1, 2002.





Secretary of the Senate