By Senators Franklin, Snyder, Johnson, Honeyford, Parlette, Hewitt, Spanel, Sheahan, Fraser, Regala, Rasmussen, Kohl-Welles, McAuliffe, Sheldon, B., Carlson and Eide


     WHEREAS, All citizens should be made aware of the safe, proper, effective and efficient use of medications; and


     WHEREAS, nearly half of the medicines prescribed are used incorrectly contributing to prolonged illness, avoidable side effects and interactions, and unnecessary hospitalization which could be prevented; and


     WHEREAS, the efforts of our educational, state, and voluntary pharmacy organizations are instrumental in educating the public about safe and proper medication use; and


     WHEREAS, pharmacists are devoted to improving patient health care outcomes in collaboration with other health care providers in our community, hospital, managed care, nursing home, home health care, and research and industry sites; and


     WHEREAS, pharmacists provide a vital service to the community and to the advancement of high quality, cost-effective health care;


     NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Washington State Senate recognize and honor pharmacists on Pharmacy Day, February 1, 2002.


I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 8732,

adopted by the Senate February 1, 2002.





Secretary of the Senate