By Senators Spanel, Haugen and Fraser


     WHEREAS, The beautiful Skagit Valley is the tulip capital of the Northwest; and


     WHEREAS, Every April, the tulips are in bloom, celebrating the beginning of spring; and


     WHEREAS, The Skagit Valley Tulip Festival begins the festival season in Washington; and


     WHEREAS, This year=s 19th annual event will run from April 5-21, focusing on the communities of Sedro-Woolley, Burlington, Anacortes, La Conner, Mount Vernon, Concrete and Conway; and


     WHEREAS, This year=s Tulip Festival Ambassadors will ably and personably perform their responsibilities as representatives of this festival; and


     WHEREAS, More than half a million people visited the Skagit Valley Tulip Festival last year, participating in the joy and excitement of this annual event, and contributing to the economy of the Skagit Valley; and


     WHEREAS, This year=s visitors will be greeted by more than 1,500 acres of tulips reflecting all the colors of the rainbow, by the fullness of life in the valley and its wonderful people; and


     WHEREAS, Highlights of the event include the Kiwanis Annual Salmon Barbeque, the Tulip Pedal Bike Ride, the Anacortes Quilt Walk, the Downtown Mount Vernon Street Fair, and much more;


     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate salute the seven communities of the Skagit Valley, their Chambers of Commerce, the Skagit Valley Tulip Festival Ambassadors, and the Tulip Festival Committee; and


     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Senate commend the community leaders and corporate sponsors for the success of this important event and encourage citizens from across Washington State to take the time to enjoy this spectacular display; and


     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Skagit Valley Tulip Festival Executive Director Audrey Smith and the Tulip Festival Ambassadors.


I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 8756,

adopted by the Senate March 12, 2002.





Secretary of the Senate