By Senators Kastama, Regala, Winsley and Rasmussen



     WHEREAS, The annual Puyallup Valley Daffodil Festival is a cherished tradition for the people of Pierce County and the Northwest; and

     WHEREAS, The mission of the Daffodil Festival  is to focus national and regional attention on our local area as a place to live and visit, to give citizens of Pierce County a civic endeavor to "rally 'round", fostering civic pride, to give young people and organizations of the local area an opportunity to display their talents and abilities to give vent to their enthusiasm in parades, pageantry, and events, and to stimulate the business economy through expenditures by and for the Festival and by visitors attracted during Festival Week; and

     WHEREAS, 2002 marks the Sixty-Ninth annual Puyallup Valley Daffodil Festival; and

     WHEREAS, The Festival began in 1926 as a modest garden party in Sumner, and grew steadily each year until 1934 when flowers, which previously had been largely discarded in favor of daffodil bulbs, were used to decorate cars and bicycles for a short parade through Tacoma; and

     WHEREAS, The Festival 2002 events are ongoing, and will culminate in the April 20, 2002, Grand Floral Street Parade, winding its way from downtown Tacoma through the communities of Puyallup, Sumner, and Orting; and

     WHEREAS, This year's Festival royalty includes princesses Nicole Remy, Spanaway Lake High School; Rachel Ott, Sumner High School; Melaine Sarreal, Bethel High School; Stephani Clifford, Curtis High School; Danielle Morris, Lakes High School; Brittany Bensch, Henry Foss High School; Kartina Woldseth, Franklin Pierce High School; Thy Pham-Cieliesz, Rogers High School; Kaylyn White, Clover Park High School; Stephanie Clabaugh, Wilson High School; Natalie Dudley, Eatonville High School; Jeni Rainey, Emerald Ridge High School; Madeline Chipps, Puyallup High School; Alysha Holmquist, Fife High School; Annie Beale, Stadium High School; Laura Soler, Orting High School; Theary So, Mount Tahoma High School; Patricia Trella, Washington High School; and Mindi Seffens, Lincoln High School;

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate recognizes and honors the many contributions made to our state by the Puyallup Valley Daffodil Festival and its organizers for the past sixty-nine years; and

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be transmitted immediately by the Secretary of the Senate to the 2002 Puyallup Valley Daffodil Festival Officers and to the members of the Festival Royalty.


I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 8780,

adopted by the Senate March 6, 2002.





Secretary of the Senate