By Senators Pat Thibaudeau, Kohl-Welles, Fraser, and Rasmussen


     WHEREAS, Dr. Maxine Hayes recently received the 2002 Dr. Nathan Davis Award for Outstanding Government Service from the American Medical Association; and


     WHEREAS, the Nathan Davis Award is among the highest awards bestowed on a physician in the United States; and


     WHEREAS, Dr. Hayes= physician colleagues from the Washington State Medical Association value her work during the past decades to improve the health of all Washingtonians, particularly low-income children and pregnant women; and


     WHEREAS, Dr. Hayes has served our states' residents since she joined the Department of Health thirteen  years ago, serving as the assistant secretary of Community and Family Health before becoming the Washington State Health Officer in February, 2000; and 


     WHEREAS, Dr. Hayes has been widely recognized throughout her career for her passionate dedication to improving public health services, particularly for the under served; and


     WHEREAS, It is the tradition of the Washington State Senate to recognize and honor the contributions of individuals who have embraced and demonstrated the standards of excellence that enhance the well-being, health and quality of life of the residents of our state;


     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate recognize and honor Dr. Maxine Hayes for unstinting commitment to expanding the reach of public health; and


     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Dr. Hayes.


I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 8783,

adopted by the Senate March 12, 2002.





Secretary of the Senate