By Senators Sheahan and McCaslin


     WHEREAS, The Washington State Senate supports excellence in all fields of human endeavor; and


     WHEREAS, The members of the Colfax High School girls= basketball team have exhibited outstanding athletic skill by winning the Class 1A State Championship; and


     WHEREAS, To win the Class 1A State Championship, the Bulldogs won four games in a row at the state competition, overcoming their final opponent 42-32; and


     WHEREAS, Lizzy Mellor of the Colfax Bulldogs girls= basketball team was selected for the All-State first team, and Natalie Shaw was named to the All-State second team; and


     WHEREAS, The Colfax Bulldogs girls= basketball team benefitted from the leadership and support of Activities Director Tony Carter, Coach Ross Thomas, and Assistant Coach Dave Cocking in their bid for athletic excellence; and


     WHEREAS, The Colfax Bulldogs have won 1A State Championships in football, volleyball, and girls= basketball during the 2001-2002 school year; and


     WHEREAS, Scholastic excellence by the Colfax Bulldogs band, football team, and boys= basketball team earned them WIAA academic achievement awards in 2001-2002; and


WHEREAS, The team and its leadership have brought distinction and pride to the Colfax Bulldogs, its students, its supporters, and the entire Colfax community;


     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate honor and congratulate the 2001-2002 Colfax Bulldogs High School girls= basketball team for its hard work, dedication to excellence, and maturity in achieving this recognition; and


     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the principal of Colfax High School, the coaching staff of the 2001-2002 girls Class 1A basketball team, and to the Colfax State 1A basketball champions Neesha Bravard, Becky Burke, Angela Johnson, Lizzy Mellor, Elaine Richards, Krystel Pierce, Natalie Shaw, Allie Swan, Karlie Swan, Alyssa Teade, Kelsie Van Tine and Jenna Vuletich.


I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 8784,

adopted by the Senate March 12, 2002.





Secretary of the Senate