By Senators Fraser, Morton, McAuliffe, Kohl-Welles and Sheahan



     WHEREAS, Each year high schools from around Washington participate in an academic decathlon, competing against one another in ten academic areas: math, economics, science or social studies, literature, fine arts, music, essay, speech, interview and a Asuper quiz@ covering social studies or science; and,


     WHEREAS, An academic decathlon team is composed of nine students who have the opportunity to win gold, silver or bronze medals in each of the ten academic areas; and


WHEREAS, An academic decathlon team=s combined score determines the overall winner of the competition so that one team becomes Washington=s academic decathlon team for that year, representing the state at the national academic decathlon; and

WHEREAS, Each team member sacrifices free time after school and on weekends to practice and prepare for the academic decathlon; and

     WHEREAS, The Olympia High School academic decathlon team won a gold medal at the state competition, earning its members the right to represent Washington at the U.S. Academic Decathlon competition April 10-13 in Phoenix; and


     WHEREAS, Leading the Olympia High School academic decathlon team is coach William Curtis, whose dedication and willingness to share his free time and energies enabled the team to win this year=s state competition; and


     WHEREAS, The Timberline High School academic decathlon team, under the direction of coach Richard Kistler, placed second in the state competition; and


     WHEREAS, The Curlew High School academic decathlon team, coached by Karen Schaaf, placed third in the state competition;


     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate recognize and honor the academic decathlon teams from Olympia High School, Timberline High School and Curlew High School for their outstanding showings at this year=s Washington State Academic Decathlon competition; and


     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the principals of each high school for distribution to the individual team members and coaches.


I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 8785,

adopted by the Senate March 13, 2002.





Secretary of the Senate