By Senators Honeyford and Rasmussen


            WHEREAS, it is the tradition of the Washington State Senate to honor the inspiring dedication, teamwork and triumph of our state’s students; and

            WHEREAS, The Sunnyside Christian Knights slew the Saint George’s Dragons in the State Boys B Tournament Championship game by a score of 37-32; and

            WHEREAS, The Sunnyside Christian Knights Basketball team, through determination and perseverance, attained a 26-1 winning record for the 2002 season; and

            WHEREAS, The commitment to excellence on the basketball court is an extension of the Knight’s commitment to academic excellence and a Christian education; and

            WHEREAS, coaches Dean Wagenaar and Dennis Harris and team members Kenton Barry, Dustin Bounds, Lance Den Boer, Derek DeVries, Daryl Haak, Erik Haringa, Joel Hughes, Dustin Merryman, Gerry Muller, and Jared Wallace have demonstrated incredible teamwork in achieving victory over the Dragons to clinch the title as State B Champions; and

            WHEREAS, The team was supported by Stephanie Aleman, Ryan Van Beek, Lucas Kilian, and Trevor Wagenaar, managers. Lissa DeGroot, Ashley Desmaris, Alyssa Goodwin, Esther Haak, Rachel Jacobsen, Maria Rasmussen and Sarah Rasmussen, cheer squad members;

            NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate do hereby acknowledge and honor the Sunnyside Christian High School Knights boys basketball team as an example to all Washingtonians of the rewards of hard work and commitment to team effort; and

            BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Coach Wagenaar and Harris, to all members of the Sunnyside Knights basketball team and to the Sunnyside Christian High School.



I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution-8786,

adopted by the Senate March 12, 2002.





Secretary of the Senate