By Senators McCaslin and Sheahan


WHEREAS, The Washington State Senate supports excellence in all fields of human endeavor; and

     WHEREAS, The members of the Central Valley High School girls= basketball team have exhibited outstanding athletic skill and teamwork by winning the Class 4A state championship for the second year in a row, completing a record thirty-three straight wins; and

     WHEREAS, the Lady Bears, undefeated in the regular season with a record of 29-0, routed their final opponent at the state championships in an intense 61-43 victory; and

     WHEREAS, Lady Bear Emily Westerberg garnered an amazing eighteen points, and fifteen rebounds and was selected for the All-State first team, and Lady Bear Katie Rodgers, named to the All-State second team, scored an outstanding ten points in the championship game; and

     WHEREAS, Lady Bears Alexis Kirk, Felice Moore, Jayme Heinen, Lindsay Whitley, Caitlin Courchaine, Joy Rowe, Brittany Baynes, Kimberley Rasmussen, Nikki Larson and Bryeanne Putney all played critical roles in helping the team secure it=s second straight state title; and

WHEREAS, The Central Valley girls= basketball team benefitted from the leadership and support of Activities Director Matt Elisara, Coach Dale Poffenroth, and Assistant Coaches Judy Walters, Freddie Rehkow and Patricia Jarvas in their bid for athletic excellence; and

     WHEREAS, these young women demonstrate that the value of trust, teamwork and discipline cannot be overstated and is critical to all we strive to accomplish in life;

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate honor and congratulate the 2001-2002 Central Valley High School girls= basketball team for its tremendous hard work, dedication to excellence, and commitment to each other in achieving recognition as state champions; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the principal of Central Valley High School, the coaching staff of the 2001-2002 girls Class 4A basketball team, and to Central Valley State 4A basketball champions Alixus Kirk, Felice Moore, Jayme Heinen, Lindsay Whitley, Kaitlin Courchaine, Joy Row, Brittany Baynes, Nikki Larson, Emily Westerberg, Kimberley Rasmussen, Katie Rodgers and Bryeanne Putney.


I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 8791,

adopted by the Senate March 14, 2002.





Secretary of the Senate