BILL REQ. #:  S-2531.1 


State of Washington58th Legislature2003 Regular Session

By Senators Jacobsen and Carlson

Read first time 03/19/2003.   Referred to Committee on Higher Education.

     WHEREAS, Education is the most important function of the state of Washington and is essential to the economic health, cultural diversity, civic vitality, and political well-being of the state and the nation; and
     WHEREAS, There is significant evidence that citizens benefit by having an opportunity to access the education and training that will allow them to contribute to the healthy future of not only themselves and their families but also to the community at large; and
     WHEREAS, Collaboration and coordination among the community and technical college system, the four-year colleges and universities, and the independent colleges and private career schools is essential to developing an educated citizenry; and
     WHEREAS, Washington's citizens would be better served through access to high quality postsecondary education without institutional or organizational barriers to ensure being able to make smooth progress through all levels of higher education they desire; and
     WHEREAS, Washington does not have a seamless higher education system nor does it have a sufficient system of coordinated higher education planning; and
     WHEREAS, An essential component of a seamless higher education system is the ability to transfer credit from institution to institution without penalty or unnecessary complication; and
     WHEREAS, The focus of the authority charged with higher education credit transfer and articulation has been on the transfer of credit from community and technical colleges to four-year institutions while not addressing the issue of credit transfer from four-year institution to four-year institution;
     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, By the Senate of the State of Washington, the House of Representatives concurring, That a joint select committee on the transfer of credit between four-year universities be established, in consultation with the Washington Higher Education Coordinating Board, to review current transfer policies and the statewide transfer of credit policy and agreement, study alternatives, and recommend credit transfer policies between four-year public institutions of higher education in order to make it easier for students to transfer between their universities of choice; and
     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the committee consist of eight members, four members each selected by the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives; and
     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the committee report its findings and recommendations to the legislature at the regular legislative session in 2005.

--- END ---