HOUSE BILL REPORT ESHB 1301

As Passed House:

March 11, 2005

Title: An act relating to state capitol campus governance.

Brief Description: Creating the legislative buildings committee.

Sponsors: By House Committee on Capital Budget (originally sponsored by Representatives

Hunt, Alexander, Ormsby, Jarrett, Dunshee, Williams and Moeller).

Brief History:

Committee Activity:

Capital Budget: 2/2/05, 2/14/05 [DPS].

Floor Activity:

Passed House: 3/11/05, 93-0.

Brief Summary of Engrossed Substitute Bill

- Creates the Legislative Buildings Committee and it has sole responsibility for
 internal space allocations and establishing policy regarding the preservation of the
 historic character of the interior and furnishings for the Legislative building, the
 Cherberg building, the O'Brien building, the Newhouse building, and the Pritchard
 building, as well as land and parking areas adjacent to these buildings.
- Appoints members to the Legislative Buildings Committee as follows: the Governor or the Governor's designee and four legislators, one from each major caucus in the House and one from each major caucus in the Senate.

HOUSE COMMITTEE ON CAPITAL BUDGET

Majority Report: The substitute bill be substituted therefor and the substitute bill do pass. Signed by 29 members: Representatives Dunshee, Chair; Ormsby, Vice Chair; Jarrett, Ranking Minority Member; Hankins, Assistant Ranking Minority Member; Blake, Chase, Cox, DeBolt, Eickmeyer, Ericks, Ericksen, Flannigan, Green, Hasegawa, Holmquist, Kretz, Kristiansen, Lantz, McCune, Moeller, Morrell, Newhouse, O'Brien, Roach, Schual-Berke, Serben, Springer, Strow and Upthegrove.

Staff: Susan Howson (786-7142).

Background:

The governance of the capitol campus, and all state facilities in Thurston County, is through the State Capitol Committee (SCC), with day-to-day management provided by the Department of General Administration (GA). The SCC was established by the Legislature in 1921 and replaced the State Capitol Commission created in 1901. The SCC: (1) approves construction of all state buildings in Thurston County; (2) approves acquisition of real estate for state government in Thurston County; and (3) carries out other duties as specified by the Legislature. The members of the SCC are the Governor, the Lieutenant Governor, the Secretary of State, and the Commissioner of Public Lands (ex officio).

The Capitol Campus Design Advisory Committee (CCDAC) advises the SCC and the Department of General Administration regarding state capitol facilities and grounds. The CCDAC consists of four legislators, the Secretary of State, two architects, a landscape architect, and an urban planner. Staff resources are provided by the Department of General Administration. The CCDAC was originally created by executive order in 1984, continued through budget provisos, and enacted into statute in 1990.

The Legislative Building Renovation Oversight Committee was created in 2001 to provide advice regarding the rehabilitation of the Legislative Building. It consists of four legislators.

The Department of General Administration provides staff support to the SCC and the CCDAC, and manages the capitol campus facilities and grounds on a day-to-day basis.

The Joint Select Committee on Historic Capitol District Governance was created in the 2002 Supplemental Capital Budget. Consisting of four legislators, the committee is to make recommendations on governance of the historic capitol campus buildings.

The Capitol Furnishings Preservation Committee is comprised of legislators, representatives of statewide offices, the Washington State Historical Society, and private citizens. The committee was established to: (1) promote and encourage the recovery and preservation of the original and historic furnishings of several buildings including the Legislative building, the Insurance building, the Cherberg building, the John L. O'Brien building, the Newhouse building, and the Temple of Justice building; (2) prevent the future loss of historic furnishings; and (3) review and advise future remodeling and restoration projects pertaining to historic furnishings. The committee also has authority to decide whether capitol campus furnishings over 50 years old are surplus or historic items. The committee's authority does not extend to the placement of any historic furnishings within these buildings.

Summary of Engrossed Substitute Bill:

The Legislative Buildings Committee is created and has sole responsibility for internal space allocations and establishing policy regarding the preservation of the historic character of the interior and furnishings for the Legislative building, the Cherberg building, the O'Brien building, the Newhouse building, and the Pritchard building, as well as land and parking areas adjacent to these buildings. The Legislative Buildings Committee must coordinate with the

House Bill Report - 2 - ESHB 1301

State Capitol Committee in matters relating to the establishment of policies affecting buildings and land under this Act.

The Legislative Buildings Committee is comprised of the Governor or the Governor's designee and four legislators, one from each major caucus in the House and one from each major caucus in the Senate. The Legislative Buildings Committee may appoint ex officio members at its discretion to assist the committee with historical, accessibility, structural, or architectural considerations related to interiors of the buildings under its control. Alternatively, the committee may contract for these services subject to legislative appropriation. Staffing for the committee will be provided by the Office of Program Research and Senate Committee Services.

The Capitol Campus Design Advisory Committee advises the Legislative Buildings Committee, in addition to the State Capitol Committee and the Department of General Administration.

The actions of the Capitol Furnishings Preservation Committee must be consistent with the policies established by the Legislative Buildings Committee.

Appropriation: None.

Fiscal Note: Not requested.

Effective Date: The bill contains an emergency clause and takes effect immediately.

Testimony For: (Original bill) As the primary tenants of the legislative buildings, legislators should have a say in decisions made about building upkeep, historical preservation and space allocations within these buildings.

(With concerns on original bill) The composition of the State Capitol Committee (SCC) should have representation from all branches of government. In addition to adding four legislators to the SCC, the GA and the Office of the Secretary of State do not support removing the Lieutenant Governor and the Secretary of State from committee membership. Given the transient nature of legislative membership positions, the GA and the Office of the Secretary of State recommend retaining representation of other state officials. The GA would like to see the role of the SCC expand to encompass more than the five buildings on the capitol campus. Current statutes governing the SCC were established in the 1950s and should be revised and updated.

Persons Testifying: (In support) Representative Hunt; and Representative Alexander.

(With concerns on original bill) Lenore Miller, General Administration; and Patrick McDonald, Secretary of State.

Persons Signed In To Testify But Not Testifying: None.