By Senators Shin and Sheldon

WHEREAS, The students selected for special recognition as Washington Scholars in 2007 have distinguished themselves as exceptional students, student leaders, and as talented and enthusiastic participants in many diverse activities including art, debate, drama, honor societies, interscholastic sports, Junior Achievement, knowledge competitions, music, and student government; and

WHEREAS, These exemplary students have also contributed to the welfare of those less fortunate in their neighborhoods through volunteer efforts with community service organizations such as the United Way, Special Olympics, March of Dimes, Big Brothers, Big Sisters, community food drives, senior centers, scouting, and church groups; and

WHEREAS, The state of Washington benefits greatly from the accomplishments of these caring and gifted individuals, not only in their role as students, but also as citizens, role models for other young people, and future leaders of our communities and our state; and

WHEREAS, Through the Washington Scholars Program, the Governor, the Legislature, and the state's citizens have an opportunity to recognize and honor three outstanding seniors from each of the state's Forty-nine Legislative Districts for the students' exceptional academic achievements, leadership abilities, and contributions to their communities;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate honor and congratulate the Washington Scholars for their hard work, dedication, contributions, and maturity in achieving this significant accomplishment; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the families of these students be commended for the encouragement and support they have provided to the scholars; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the principals, teachers, and classmates of these highly esteemed students be recognized for the important part they played in helping the scholars to learn, contribute, lead, and excel; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to each of the Washington Scholars selected in 2007.