By Senator Schoesler

WHEREAS, The St. John-Endicott Eagles won the Whitman League football title; and

WHEREAS, The Eagles won a wild 92-68 class 1B quarterfinal playoff game over Odessa; and

WHEREAS, St. John-Endicott relied more on its defense in a 32-28 victory over Pateros in the state semifinals to earn its first trip to a state football championship game since 1984; and

WHEREAS, In the state championship game against the Lummi Blackhawks, SJE took a 6-0 halftime lead on an 84-yard touchdown run by Phillip Luft and then added a 27-yard touchdown pass from quarterback Andrew Wolfe to William Harrison in the third quarter before holding on to defeat Lummi 12-6 in the state 1B football championship game at the Tacoma Dome on December 2nd; and

WHEREAS, The 18 points were the lowest combined total in eight-man state football championship game history; and

WHEREAS, Lummi reached SJE's red zone seven times during the game, but the Eagles' defense prevented them from scoring six of those seven times;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate congratulate and honor the St. John-Endicott Eagles players, head coach Joey McCanna, and assistant coaches Bob Clements and Bryan Carter on winning the state 1B football title and finishing their season with a 13-1 record.