SENATE RESOLUTION 8632

By Senator Schoesler

WHEREAS, The Asotin High School football team began the 2006 season by losing its first three games; and

WHEREAS, The Panthers turned their season around by winning their next six games to finish the regular season with a 6-3 record; and

WHEREAS, Asotin dominated other Southeast 2B League teams by a combined score of 263-32; and

WHEREAS, The Panthers continued their hot streak once they reached the playoffs, defeating Lind-Ritzville, Davenport, and previously undefeated Toutle Lake to reach the state championship game against the undefeated La Salle Lightning; and

WHEREAS, In the state title game, Asotin scored three touchdowns in a six-minute stretch of the second quarter to take a commanding halftime lead en route to defeating La Salle 28-10 and capturing the Class 2B state football title on December 1st in the Tacoma Dome; and

WHEREAS, In winning their first ever state football championship, the Panthers became the first three-loss team in the 32 years of Class 2B football to win a state title;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate honor and congratulate the Asotin Panthers on winning the 2006 state Class 2B football championship, especially the players, head coach Salvador Lopez, longtime coach Rick Wilcox, and assistant coaches Corey Mullins, Jim Holman, Ken Parham, and Jim Cook.

I, Thomas Hoemann, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8632, adopted by the Senate February 20, 2007

THOMAS HOEMANN Secretary of the Senate