SENATE RESOLUTION 8636

By Senators Haugen, Berkey and Fraser

WHEREAS, Oak Harbor High School this past fall claimed the 4A State Championship football title when the Wildcats capped an exciting season with a 21 to 14 victory in the championship game at the Tacoma Dome; and

WHEREAS, Along with capturing the State 4A title, the Wildcats, led by Coach Dave Ward, finished their storybook season with an impressive record of 13 and 1; and

WHEREAS, The winning of this year's 4A state title by Oak Harbor was the first football championship won by the school; and

WHEREAS, Quarterback Marshall Lobbestael, who will play for the Washington State University Cougars, was named Class 4A State Player of the Year by the Associated Press; and

WHEREAS, Offensive Lineman Will Hunter was named to the Associated Press All State First Team; and

WHEREAS, With the victory in the state title game Coach Dave Ward compiled his 100th career victory as a head coach;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate honor the Oak Harbor Wildcats for their 4A State Football Championship; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the Oak Harbor School District Superintendent, the Oak Harbor High School Principal, and the Oak Harbor High School's Wildcats Football team members and coaches.

I, Thomas Hoemann, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8636, adopted by the Senate February 21, 2007

THOMAS HOEMANN Secretary of the Senate