SENATE RESOLUTION 8652

By Senator Marr

WHEREAS, The high level of competition and enduring tradition of boys high school basketball is well established in the state of Washington; and

WHEREAS, The state high school boys' AAAA basketball championship tournament completed March 3, 2007, demonstrated with spirited play and exemplary sportsmanship the appeal of the sport among players, students, parents, and fans of Washington state; and

WHEREAS, the most difficult accomplishment in the world of sports is to live up to the

high expectations and to reach the ultimate goal of a tournament championship; and

WHEREAS, The Joel E. Ferris High School Saxons boys basketball team triumphed on March 3 in the Class AAAA championship game, and, by winning 68-61 over a worthy opponent from Kentridge High School, became the Class AAAA Champions; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Joel E. Ferris High School Saxons boys basketball team are Evan Ewing, Jeff Minnerly, Erick Cheadle, Tyler Lynn, Shawn Stockton, Jared Karstetter, Andre Jennings, DeAngelo Casto, Morgan Hyslop, Pat Maher, Beau Brett, and Casey Ager; and

WHEREAS, Shawn Stockton was distinguished by being named tournament Most Valuable Player, and each of the Ferris Saxons distinguished themselves with their sportsmanship and determination, team members and fans alike; and

WHEREAS, The Joel E. Ferris High School Saxons under the leadership of Coach Don Van Lierop and Assistant Coaches Jason Gilman, Mike McLauchlin, Cliff Poffenroth, Dave Rath, and Rob Servine, have brought distinction and pride to Ferris High School, its students, its supporters, and the entire Spokane community;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That in recognition of the outstanding accomplishments of the team members and the coaching staff, the Senate honor and congratulate the Joel E. Ferris High School Boys Basketball Team; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted to the School District 81 School Board, the administration of Joel E. Ferris High School, and each of the players and coaches.

I, Thomas Hoemann, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8652, adopted by the Senate March 20, 2007

THOMAS HOEMANN Secretary of the Senate