SENATE RESOLUTION 8653

By Senator Marr

WHEREAS, The high level of competition and enduring tradition of girls high school basketball is well established in the state of Washington; and

WHEREAS, The state high school girls AAAA basketball championship tournament completed March 3, 2007, demonstrated with spirited play and exemplary sportsmanship the appeal of the sport among players, students, parents, and fans of Washington state; and

WHEREAS, The most difficult accomplishment in the world of sports is to live up to the

high expectations and to reach the ultimate goal of a tournament championship; and

WHEREAS, The Lewis & Clark High School Tigers girls basketball team triumphed on March 3 in the Class AAAA championship game, and, by winning 39-34 over a worthy opponent from University High School, became the Class AAAA Champions; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Lewis & Clark High School Tigers girls basketball team are Daisy Burke, Katrina Bech, Katelan Redmon, Kiki January, Jeneva Anderson, Ula Tauala, Emily Travis, Brittany Kennedy, Lyndi Seidensticker, Kelsey Baker, Cambrie Marks, Ashley Woodruff, and Sarah Kliewer; and

WHEREAS, Each of the Lewis & Clark Tigers distinguished themselves with their sportsmanship and determination, team members and fans alike; and

WHEREAS, The Lewis & Clark High School Tigers under the leadership of Coach Jim Redmon, and assistant coaches Nicole Duvernay, Kara Piippo, Kari Ike, Tim Ike, Michelle Spohr, Michelle Grafos, Jennifer Kennedy, and Stephanie Korling, have brought distinction and pride to Lewis & Clark High School, its students, its supporters, and the entire Spokane community;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That in recognition of the outstanding accomplishments of the team members and the coaching staff, the Senate honor and congratulate the Lewis & Clark High School girls basketball team; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted to the School District 81 School Board, the administration of Lewis & Clark High School, and each of the players and coaches.