## SENATE RESOLUTION 8661

## By Senator Honeyford

WHEREAS, The notice of election for incorporating the Town of White Salmon was published in *The Enterprise* newspaper, the election was held on March 30, 1907, the vote was 53 for incorporation and 6 against; and

WHEREAS, The 1907 election's mayoral race was contested, with C. M. Wolfard receiving 39 votes and T. Wyers, Sr. receiving 25 votes; and

WHEREAS, The 1907 election resulted in the election of R. Lauterbach as Treasurer; and WHEREAS, The 1907 election's Council race resulted in the election of A. H. Jewett, A. B. Groshong, F. L. Rosegrant, and J. W. Gearhart being elected; and

WHEREAS, The 1907 election's Council races also resulted in J. A. Byrne and A. F. Smith each receiving 30 votes, thereby requiring them to appear before the Council and have that contest decided by lot; and

WHEREAS, The 1907 election for incorporating the Town of White Salmon and choosing its officials was not certified until May 10, 1907, and was filed with the Secretary of State on June 3, 1907; and

WHEREAS, The City of White Salmon's current elected officials are Mayor Francis H. Gaddis, and Council Members Susan Benedict, John Mayo, Timi Keene, Ricky Marx, and Brad Roberts; and

WHEREAS, The City of White Salmon's Centennial Committee has planned several events from May through August, including June 2nd and 3rd events such as a Centennial ride by the postmaster, a Centennial hand cancellation of the official White Salmon Post Stamp, the Centennial Spring Fest, and the burial of a commemorative time capsule under a large stone in the park, as well as an August 11th community picnic, with a salmon bake by local Native Americans, dancing by various groups, and displays of antique farming, logging, fruit processing equipment, and music from different eras;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate recognize and congratulate the City of White Salmon and its citizens for the 100th anniversary of the establishment of the Town of White Salmon; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this 100-Year Centennial Celebration resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Francis H. Gaddis, Mayor of the City of White Salmon.